SQL commands are broadly divided into four categories:

  • DDL – Data Definition Language

  • DML – Data Manipulation Language

  • DCL – Data Control Language

  • TCL – Transactional Control Language


1. DDL

Data Definition Language consists of SQL commands that handle the database schemas and illustrations. DDL can be used to create and modify the schema of database objects within a database.


2. DML

Data Manipulation Language is used to manipulate the data like retrieve, store, modify, delete, and update data in the database.

3. DCL

Data Control Language as the name suggests it is used to create roles, grant permissions, or revoke permissions to the database by securing it.


4. TCL

Transactional Control Language is used to manage multiple transactions within a database.


©2020 by Pavan Lalwani. 

  • Udemy
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Linkedin